Users (Classic Operations App)

The Users section is where you can edit and view users and their permissions. For example, if you have a CSR that needs access to Order Entry and Dispatch functionality, but you don’t want them to have access to accounting or driver settlements, you can deselect those specific permissions on the CSR. 

To access Users go to Maintenance > Users

  

User Templates

The baseline database comes with 4 templates: Accountant Template, CSR Template, Dispatcher Template, and Manager Template. You can create new templates by following the How to Add a New User or Template steps below.

Quick Tip: When creating new templates, name the template for the position in your company and add "Template" to the end for the Permissions for field. For example "Route Dispatch Template". Cloud customers should add their four-digit customer ID to the end. For example "Route Dispatch Template-9999".

How to Add a New User or Template

If you are a Cloud customer, you will add a new user or template to create new users from the Cloud Client window under Resources. See How to Correctly Add or Delete a User Login from Your Account in Cloud Client.

  1. Go to Maintenance > Users.

  2. Click the New button in the toolbar.

Alternate steps:

  1. Click the arrow next to the New button.

  2. Click Users.

Copy a User

  1. Go to Maintenance > Users.

  2. Right-click on the user, you would like to copy, the User ID will be highlighted in blue, and select Copy

  3. Enter a new unique user ID.  

How to Edit a User or Template

  1. Go to Maintenance > Users.

  2. Double-click the user you would like to edit.

  3. Click the save button at the bottom.

  4. In the top menu go to Tools > Refresh Permissions, or exit and relaunch the Classic Operations App to refresh permissions to ensure changes are applied right away. 

How to Delete a User or Template

If you are a Cloud customer, you will delete Operations App users from the Cloud Client window under Resources. See How to Correctly Add or Delete a User Login from Your Account in Cloud Client.

  1. Go to Maintenance > Users.

  2. Right-click on the user you would like to delete, User ID will be highlighted in blue, and select Delete.

How to View the Audit Log for a Permission Set or Template

To view changes that have been made to this user or template, click the Audit Trail button at the bottom of the user form. 

User Form

  

Field Name

Description

Field Name

Description

Permissions for

The user ID, or username, of the user.

Inherit Permissions From

Allows a user to inherit permissions from a template or an existing user. 

Users who inherit permissions from a template or another user have an identical set of permissions. If a change is needed, edit the parent template and those changes are seen in all users who inherit those permissions. To remove inheritance and create an individual user setting, click "Inherit Permissions From" select box, press the delete key then the enter key.

If a user is inheriting permissions from another user or template that is edited, changes are not seen in this user until permissions are refreshed. Refresh by clicking Tools > Refresh Permissions.

Web Access

Password

Password for all web services including Operations, X Tracking, and API usage. 

Confirm Password

 

(Permissions)

Update permissions by checking boxes for functions the user needs to access, and unchecking boxes for functions the user cannot access. To view, select, or deselect permissions for the users, click on the plus sign next to each section to expand the view and drill into each permission category.

  • Always Start at Home URL - Left blank in order to conserve resources.

  • X Dispatch Functions - These function permissions are for the On-Demand section.

  • Visual Dispatch (BETA) - Permission to access the Visual Dispatch Board. 

  • X Route Functions - These function permissions are for the X Route section. 

  • X Stream - This is an area that holds data for integrations, posting, and mappings. By unchecking this permission, a user will not be able to access the X Stream tab. Permissions in this section should be enabled for technical staff only to ensure crucial settings are not accidentally disabled or changed.

  • Maintenance Functions -  These function permissions include sections in the Maintenance section, excluding Business Units and Fleets, which have separate permissions settings. 

  • Business Units - Permissions for the Business Units section. If a new business unit is created, all users will need to have their permissions updated with the new business unit.

  • Fleets - Permissions for the user to add/edit Fleets in the Maintenance section. When a new fleet is created, each user that needs permissions to the new fleet will need to have their permissions updated to include the new fleet.

  • Actions - Permissions for actions performed from the Action menu in the menu bar.

  • Tools - Permissions for actions performed from the Tools menu in the menu bar.

  • Reports - Permissions for actions performed from the Reports menu in the menu bar and report and find features.

  • User Preferences - Permissions for user preferences.

Quick Tip: If the permission section is grayed out and you see the warning that the permissions are being inherited from another user, but you would like to add or remove a permission to the permission set, you can click Inherit Permissions From. This opens the inherited permissions record and allows you to add or remove additional permissions as necessary.